Back to Blog

How to clear the Web Widget

We’ve built the Web Widget in a way that it keeps its context. If your customers come back for a visit on your website they can easily continue the conversation with your bot. That is great for the customer experience but when testing you might want clear the widget. You can, of course, use the Try it out but that design is a bit different from your actual Web Widget design.

Let’s look into different options that you have to clear the Web Widget. The first 3 can help you out for testing purposes. The fourth one shows you how to change the standard behavior of the bot.

1. Incognito Tab

The first one is very simple. Copy the URL of your Web Widget and past it in an incognito tab in your browser. The Widget will not recognize that it’s you again and will start the conversation from scratch.

2. Clear button

A second option is to use the reset button within the Web Widget. You can enable and disable this within the Customize section of the corresponding Web Widget.

Clear Web Widget

3. Reset Trigger

A third option is to build a reset within your Flow.ai design. Your chat conversation will not be deleted but it resets all the parameters so that you can start all over.

Clear Web Widget via reset trigger

4. Session Storage

By default the widget stores messages across browser sessions. By setting flowai_webclient_storage to session you can change this behavior. When set to session all messages are removed when a user closes the web browser. See our Web Widget docs for reference.

Get StartedContact us